Night Orchid


As Night Orchid opens, a wolf wanders silently through the streets of Stockholm. An ominous sign that something is twisted, that nature is encroaching upon civilization. Winter has come; Lake Mälaren is frozen, the night is dark. As the wolf crosses the Västerbro Bridge, it pauses briefly, as everyone does, to gaze out across one of the world’s most beautiful capital cities.

Not far from there, by another bridge, a brutal murder takes place. Bewildering to the police, the state of the body suggests the killer was a large predator. Ebba Lindh watches from her kitchen window as the first responders secure the scene, and thinks to herself that this might end up on her brother’s desk, a detective at the city’s Violent Crimes Division. She is right; Robert Lindh is at the scene and is later put in charge of the investigation.

This is the first in a series of vicious murders that are clearly yet inexplicably linked. The murders form the dramaturgical framework of the trilogy.

From the very start of the Stockholm Calling trilogy it is clear that Niklas Leavy’s voice is a unique addition to the suspense genre. His style is inimitable, sophisticated, linguistically limber and suffused with a darkness and drastic accuracy that sets his writing apart from other Scandinavian crime writers. A fresh and convincing storyteller, Niklas Leavy will keep the readers on their toes, never knowing what to expect.

Stockholm Calling is an impressive thriller trilogy with a distinctly international feel. Apt comparisons, on several levels, include Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, Jo Nesbø’s Harry Hole series and Dennis Lehane’s stand-alone thrillers, to name but a few.

Niklas Leavy

Original title:

Fall 2017


Original publisher:

Reading material:
Swedish manuscript (final)
English Sample

430 pages


Movie-option/White Clove Films